Walk-Up Songs

I have read a lot of posts recently about Walk-Up Songs. It got me thinking about good Walk-Up Songs. There are the classic songs like Iron Man by Black Sabbath and of course Rick Vaughn/Charlie Sheen in Major League walking out to Wild Thing (sorry this video is not all the way appropriate, a few F-bombs, I tried to find a clean one but I could not). But what are some good ones for today?

5. Whatever You Like- T.I. (Clean! some alcohol referneces)
This would be pretty funny. It is a pretty funny song already now just imagine some millionaire baseball player stepping up to bat with this playing in the background. Funny.
4. Paper Planes- M.I.A. (Clean from what I can tell… There are some gun and drug references but other than that)
This song has a great opening and is very upbeat and fun. We used to listen to this song in swim practice and it really got us going.
It saddens me that A-Fraud uses this as his song because it means I have to compliment him for something. This is a great Walk-Up song. It exudes confidence and is pretty upbeat and fun. The clean version is pretty funny, I recommend it for anyone.
I suggest this song for a certain Cleveland Indian named Grady Sizemore. How funny would that be to see him come up to bat with this song playing. Same thing as This Is Why I’m Hot, it exudes confidence but I think it is funnier. And more upbeat.
This song is an awesome Walk-Up Song. It is upbeat and gets you fired up. I listen to this song when I am working out and getting tired and it gets me started again. 
Honorable mentions:  I’m So Paid- Akon ft. Lil Wayne and Young Jeezy and Just Dance- Lady Gaga ft. Colby Adonis
I tried really hard to find clean versions of all of these songs. Don’t listen to the explicit versions if you think your parents would have a problem with it. 
The Indians won last night! Pavano pitched a solid outing and gave up 2 runs in 6 2/3 innings and 94 pitches. After the second inning he really got going. Trevor Crowe had an awesome game including a single, 2 walks, and a stolen base. Grady had a stolen base and made an amazing catch in the outfield. Best news of the day: Travis Hafner hit his first home run of the Spring. He may have hit a high, hanging, curve ball that I could probably hit but he still killed it.
They play today at 4 o’clock eastern time. I am so excited. This will be their last home Spring Training game and I believe Rick Manning’s and Matt Underwood’s last broadcast until the season starts. So today I leave you with:
Jerry Coleman: “Would you tell Manny to cut his hair?”
Rick: “That’s a wig. I don’t believe that’s his real hair.” 
haha
And again:
Jerry: “Would you do me a favor and tell Peralta to write his name correctly?” Laughed about this for like five minutes. Personally I refer to Jhonny as J-honny and pronounce the “h.” This is similar to how I say Chone Figgins’ name. Just like it looks, Chone, none of this “Shawn” nonsense.

10 comments

  1. rockymountainway

    Melissa, I really respect you for trying to clean up some of those songs and at least letting people know there are some explicit lyrics. I really get sad when I see people who seemingly have no regard for kids on this sight when they post picts and such which I know I wouldn’t want my niece and nephew seeing. There are a lot of youngsters on this sight and I wish some people would think before they post things kids shouldn’t be seeing. I am totally for freedom of speech but this is not the place for flip off signs or f-bombs in cartoons or pictures or the like. Thanks for the effort : )
    Tom
    http://rockymountainway.mlblogs.com

  2. raysrenegade

    I can not fathom the name right now, but there was a site online last year that had the walk-up tunes for almost every player in the MLB.
    It was kind of interesting to see some of the picks by certain players you knew might be the metal guys or alternative rockers. I mean Eric Hinske loved to play Staind last year, about 3 different songd during the year.
    But Willy Aybar tokk the easy way out and picked “Low” by F lo rida.
    I sometimes wonder if they actually pick the songs, or if a list is given out before the season of acceptible tunes. You never know.
    I do not know a lot of those listed song ( except Sexyback), I am going to have to hit Itunes today and check them out.

    Rays Renenegade

    http://raysrenegade.mlblogs.com

  3. Lissi

    Tom- No problem. I know a lot of people who read these would not appreciate the explicit lyrics or videos. I like rap music minus all of that junk. It sends such a bad message and people wonder why our kids are so messed up…
    Rays- I absolutely hate Grady’s walk-up song. It is some metal thing; I listened to it on iTunes and it was terrible. I think he needs help finding a replacement. I don’t think Low is a good walk-up song; it doesn’t have the right feel to it. I wonder about the list too. Like is it a requirement for every team to have someone use Iron Man? Definitely check them out on iTunes. I like them all. Except This is Why I’m Hot I only like for the beginning, then it gets old.

Leave a comment